Heritage Center Guild

HCGuild Logo NoBkg copyWhat Is The Guild?

The Guild Steering Committee of the Great Smoky Mountains Heritage Center is a 19-21 member, volunteer support organization dedicated to the mission of preserving, protecting and promoting the unique history and rich cultural heritage of East Tennessee and the Great Smoky Mountains Region; primarily through fundraising activities. The Guild has its own officers and bylaws and meets at the Heritage Center on the 4th Monday of every month.

Included in these fundraising activities is the popular ‘Heritage Happening Gala & Auction’ complete with benefit dinner and silent & live auction which is held on the 3rd Saturday of May each year. A ‘Mountain Home Tour’ is also planned each year for late October or early November. Proceeds from these and other events go towards funding the Heritage Center’s Educational Outreach activities.

Former Guild Steering Committee members stay connected through the Guild Alumni Association which provides additional leadership, expertise and volunteer support of Guild activities. Many Guild Steering Committee and Guild Alumni Association members provide additional support to the Heritage Center by volunteering as museum docents, gift shop and/or special event volunteers.

Current Guild Members Include:

  • Kathryn (Kat) Barrow, President
  • Ruthie Barton
  • Nita Beale
  • Mary Biddle
  • Jennifer Bland
  • Carol Campbell
  • Jody Dyer
  • Kris Dickman
  • Karen Eberle
  • Mary Ann Everett
  • Babs Evers
  • Janice (Jan) Kemp-Phillippy
  • Ruth Ann Lindgren
  • Carol Muelder
  • Jan Patterson
  • Barbara Polak
  • Jane Ellen Rawdon
  • Alice Sheffield
  • Ann Tedford
  • Cathy Underwood
  • Jeannie VanWinkle
  • Georgene Wade
  • Georgie Whitley
  • Charlotte Wood